Information about Austin DWI/DUI
If you have been charged with Driving While Intoxicated ("DWI") in or around Austin, Texas, we can help you. We represent clients charged with DWI in Travis,
Williamson, Burnet, Hays, Caldwell, Lee, Lampasas and other Central Texas counties. That includes the cities of Austin, Georgetown,
San Marcos, Giddings, Lockhart and Lampasas. We bring years of experience and a unique approach to DWI defense.
DWI/DUI is a Serious Charge
A first offense DWI charge carries a potential penalty of up to six months in jail and a fine of up to $2,000.00. Additionally, if
you are convicted, a fee of $1,000.00, or under certain circumstances $1,500.00 per year for three years, will be assessed by the Texas
Department of Public Safety that must be paid in order to maintain your driverís license. If you have been previously convicted of a
DWI, the punishment goes up to potentially one year in jail and a $4,000.00 fine. If you have been convicted twice before of DWI you may
be charged with a third degree felony. That
charge carries a potential punishment of up to ten years in the penitentiary and up to a $10,000.00 fine.
Administrative License Revocation
After you were arrested for DWI, you were offered the opportunity to submit to a breath test, or in some instances a blood test. If
you refused to take the test, or if you took it and the result was .08 or above, your license is subject to suspension.
If you refused to take the test, the period of suspension is 180 days, if you havenít been stopped for DWI before. If this is not the
first time youíve been offered a breath or blood test, the period of suspension may be two years.
If you took the test and the result was .08 or above, the period of suspension is 90 days if youíve not been stopped for DWI before.
If youíve been stopped before, the suspension may be for two years.
You are entitled to a hearing to determine if your license will be suspended. The hearing MUST BE REQUESTED WITHIN 15 DAYS OF YOUR
ARREST or you will not have a hearing, and your license will be suspended automatically 40 days after your arrest.
Additional information about Austin DWI/DUI.